Mojo IPA

I can't remember where I got this image, but thanks for looking at it.

I can’t remember where I got this image, but thanks for looking at it.

Summer and IPAs go together, and Mojo IPA (7.2% ABV) from Boulder Beer Company is one that’s worth a try before summer is over, especially to the grizzled IPA afficianado.  Light gold with a fancy head and generous carbonation, Mojo IPA wafts a nice citrus note that comes from down deep, but is secondary to the pleasant, earthy, grapefruit zest bouquet that gets your attention right away.  Mojo is tart and dry on the tongue, with more lemon notes, and a bitter finish.  The problem for me is that the bitterness is a little too pronounced and long-lasting, and is almost disappointing after the nice lead up.  Hard core IPA folks won’t find this to be a problem, so if you’re building a mixed 6-pack, try one for yourself and then try it again if you like it.  Seems like something I didn’t really need to tell you.  You’re smart, you’ll figure it out.

Leave a comment