Blanche de Namur

I don’t know if I’m qualified to review http://www.bocq.be/english/ownbrands/blanche_namur.html Blanche de Namur, but I’ll try.  A dinner guest showed up with an 11.2 oz. bottle (one bottle) and poured it for himself.  I ended up pouring off the last ounce that he didn’t want due to the yeast.  I felt like a garbage picker in my own house, but the guest was a kid and not up to speed on protocol, despite being in boot camp at Great Lakes.  Anyway, here’s what I got out of that last ounce.  Pale yellow with a hint of pink.  Bouquet reminded me of Froot Loops.  The taste was tart, very fizzy and sported a good head (I saw his glass and made notes, stealthily).  The label says it was brewed with coriander, orangeskin and liquorice (sic).  I found no evidence of licorice, but I suppose the orange and coriender explains the Froot Loopinese.  My take is that it is a more expensive, yeastier version of Blue Moon.  Save your money.

Leave a comment