Best to leave the pumpkins to the pie bakers.

I’ve had two bottles of Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale in my fridge since October.  A friend brought a 12 pack to our Halloween party.  I got tired of seeing them there, so I finally decided to try one.  This beer poured amber/copper and a floated a decent, consistent head, left good lacing and produced a fair amount of carbonation.  The bouquet hit my nose in this order:  malt, hops, spices, butterscotch…and plastic.  The texture was full and smooth, and the mouthfeel was nice.  There was a bit of caramel in the malt, lighly sweet, and the spice was not overpowering, but that hint of plastic remained in the finish.  I didn’t finish this one, and won’t try it again.  The other bottle left in the fridge…I’ll dump it and fill the space with something good.

This Harvest Moon will not shine on.

This Harvest Moon will not shine on.

Leave a comment