Is it Pulaski Day Yet?

I ask because I have just tried Warka, brewed in the birthplace of that greatest of Chicagoans, Casimir Pulaski.  Warka 1478 (High Quality Beer) is somehow affiliated w/ the Zwiec Group of beers.  It is a deep gold to orange beer with a thin, consistent head and a bit of carbonation.  There’s a good malt presence in the bouquet, with a touch of roasted carmel and some yeast.  Tastes a little yeasty too.  Some sweetness in the finish, some hops, but mostly sweet.  At 7% alcohol, I become more forgiving of a beers weeknesses as I near the end of the glass, but the yeastiness reminds me of a homebrew, and not a great one.  As a Chicagoan and Honorary Pole, I’d have to steer you away from this one, when there are so many better offerings from Poland available.

Leave a comment