Charkoota Rye

The idea of smoking barley malt to add flavor to a beer is intriguing if nothing else.  I have tried two smoke beers in my career, so I review this as a novice and you should take that into consideration while reading this.  Charkoota Rye Smoked Doppelbock Lager pours a deep ruby-to-burgundy and floats a thin tan head.  The bouqet…OK, it smells like a band aid, then like beef jerky and finally like shoe leather.  Off-putting.  The taste follows the bouquet exactly, with some sharpness and a malty, sweet backbone.  I paid $6.99 for a 22 oz. bomber so I really wanted to drink it, but I dumped it after 4 or 5 ounces and cleansed my palate with a 312.  If you want to dabble in smoke beers, try Schlenkerla Rauchbier, which is smoky but not gross.

Leave a Reply

