Purple Haze on Beale Street

In Memphis over Easter weekend, I looked forward to trying some local food and local beer.  Couldn’t find any local beer where I went, but had a Purple Haze from Abita Brewing Company, ordered at the Blues City Cafe.  Very cool place.  Family friendly, but seedy enough to give off a cool, funky vibe.  I ordered the Purple Haze because I had never heard of it.  I’ve seen Abita products at Binny’s, but only came close a few times to buying it.  Unfortuneately, I was suffering from the after effects of a bad sinus infection and a bad reaction to the drugs I was given (Levaquin) and I could barely taste anything, even the barbecue.  Well, this turned out to be a “malt beverage with raspberries added,” and that may be the only reason I tasted anything.  It’s a wheat beer, and the only raspberry beer I’ve tried.  I’m glad I did, next time may even get something out of it, but the style does nothing for me really.

Leave a Reply

