A Good Day

Today was a good day for flavors.  Went to Binny’s and bought some good stuff.  Rogue River Blue Cheese – fabulous.  Maytag Blue Cheese – wonderful.  Delice de Bourg….can’t spell it – unbelievable.  Then I bought 2 thin slices of pata negra for $4.00.  I heard about it on a food review show.  Basically, it’s Spanish prosciutto, and only just became available in the states.  Everyone was raving about it.  Guess what?  It’s OK.  At $100 a pound for pata negra, I think I’ll stick with prosciutto.  The best thing I bought was Shiner Bohemian Black Lager.  The label attracted me.  Didn’t support its head very long.  Had a nice hoppy bouquet with some yeast and chocolate malt.  Lively on the tongue, hoppy and with a lightly butterscotchy finish.  Pretty good stuff, but I think I prefer malty over hoppy when it comes to dark beers.  I’m more of a doppel bock than a dunkel.  But Shiner has made a nice product and this is a great time of year for a black beer.

Leave a comment