Mickey’s Fine Malt Liquor

“Fine” and “Malt Liquor” are two terms that should not inhabit the same sentence.  When a friend brought a 6-pack of Mickey’s Fine Malt Liquor to a party I had flashbacks to my freshman year at NIU.  I didn’t know what the word swill meant back

Mickey's Fine Malt Liquor

then, but learned quickly after enjoying a few too many wide mouths in my dorm room.  These days the packaging is less about Irish iconography and more about hornets.  If you pour Mickey’s Fine Malt Liquor briskly into a glass you will get a thick, white fluffy head that leaves a surprising amount of lacing.  This pale, straw colored brew is relatively well-carbonated, and the smell emanating off the head is a combination of grass and corn.  The texture is thin and the taste leans toward sweet, with a hint of alcohol throughout.  This is what I’d call a dumper, meaning I would rather dump it than drink it, and that’s what I did.

One thing I did like though was the rebus inside the lid.  One of them was a “Y”, an oar, 3 flies and a down-pointing arrow.  Your fly’s down.  Ha!

Leave a Reply

