San Diego County Session Ale

This limited edition IPA is the joint project of Stone Brewing, Kelsey McNair (homebrewer) and Ballast Point Brewery, one in a series of collaborative brews out of San Diego County.  I found it on tap at The Bavarian Lodge in Lisle, IL, and was intrigued by the hoppy description in their beer menu.  It arrived looking a bit like dirty water, but it had a reasonable amount of carbonation, and despite it’s disappearing head, it left a good deal of splotchy lacing.  This is an aromatic brew, very hoppy, with a hint of grapefruit and plenty of pine essence.  The more I whiffed, the more the pine turned into Pine Sol.  Not appetizing.  San Diego County Session Ale was thin-bodied, almost anemic.  Apart from the hoppy nature, there’s not much more to it.  It’s bitter, dry and disappointing.  I’ve read a ton of good reviews on this one, and I just don’t see it.  I love a hoppy brew, but not one that is just hoppy for the sake of being hoppy, and offering nothing else to accompany it.  I can’t recommend this one.  IPA 35/100

Leave a comment