Raging Bitch

Raging Bitch by Flying Dog out of Frederick, MD is an over-the-top Belgian-style IPA hybrid, and a dang good one at that.  This amber treasure has plenty of carbonation, and sports a head of random-sized bubbles that leaves a fair amount of slowly sliding lacing.  The bouquet is complex, featuring floral hops, candi sugar, rose essence and fruit of the citrus variety, in that order.  The taste is definitely Belgian ale meets IPA and all that goes with it.  Dry and sweet at first, super hoppy, piney, and eventually the very dry finish reveals a subdued Trix cereal note.  It is rich, sharp and sweet, but not cloying, and the 8.3% ABV is felt but not so much tasted.  Raging Bitch is not an every day beer, but certainly makes a special occasion more special.

4 Responses

  1. I’ve always thought of Flying Dog as the Huber of craft beers. The ‘lounge’ around the corner sells their pale ale for $2.50 a bottle! After trying several other flavors, it seemed to me that the only difference was the amount of sugar.

    Sort of reminds me of those pseudo craft beer collections sold at World Market and Target.

    • Interesting. That’s the first of their products I’ve tried, but I’ll try to find a single bottle of some of the others so I can compare. We like Huber, right? At least the pre-Minhas Craft Brewery version Huber. I haven’t tried Huber Lager since the 2005 changeover. I’m still bitter about that.

  2. I haven’t tried Huber lately either…it’s hard to find in the city. I am assuming that MInhas has raised the price too.

    I still have a fondness for Huber and Rhinelander – in returnable bottles especially. Nothing like a four high stack of returnable Rhinelander cases in your dorm room closet to get you through the week.

    Have you tried the new ‘old’ Schlitz? Never thought I would pay $6.99 for a sixer of Schlitz…but it’s pretty good. It’s got some real flavor…more than your super brew domestic lagers.

    • Check the link under REVIEWS on the right to get to the “Schlitz (kind of)” from Jan. of 2009 for my take on it.

      Minhas beers all have a buttery quality to them that might be offputting, but it is still reasonably priced, and if it’s very cold, I have no real complaints.

Leave a Reply

