Sea Dog Pumpkin Ale

Let me start by saying I’m not a fan of the style, the styl being beers that are better off as cakes or sweet breads.  None-the-less, I will do my best to give an honest, impartial review.  Sea Dog Pumpkin Ale (Sea Dog Brewing Co., Bangor, ME) is medium gold and thin looking, and produces a minimal head despite visible carbonation.  It smells like pumpkin bread for sure, and that makes me a little hesitant in drinking it.  I do anyway, for the sake of modern science, and find it to be buttery with prominent sweetness and nutmeggy spiceyness.  The texture is thin and although this beer is not for me, it seems to be honest and not overstated or artificial.

Leave a Reply

