Capital Dark

Capital Brewery, Middleton, WI first produced its Capital Dark in 1986 and it took me this long (I think) to try it.  I’ve had plenty of their other offerings, from bottles, on tap, at their brewery tour, but this one caught my eye the other day as I looked for dark beer for my wife.  Yes, I’m a thoughtful husband.  There’s a good whiff of yeast off the 3/4″ beige head, an average amount of carbonation and a bit of lacing.  The deep ruby/brown hue is appealing, as is the roasted malt notes eminiating from the brew.  Capital Dark is medium-bodied, not really flavorful, but it is lightly smoky, maybe, slightly yeasty and there is some roasted caramel present.  The finish is a touch bitter and dry.  This reminds me of really good homebrew, but I don’t want homebrew at $7.99 a six pack.     66/100 Dark Lager

Leave a comment