Grand Beer in Grand Rapids

Try this!

Try this!

I have sung the praises of Bell’s Amber Ale before, and had a chance to enjoy it on draft recently.  I was in Grand Rapids learning about aluminum extrusions, kerf cutting and other fascinating industry fallderall, and had time to pour a few pints down my neck in the evening.  The 22 oz. Bell’s drafts were phenomenal.  Malty, effervescent, sweet and smooth.  Another winner was New Holland’s Dragon’s Milk Ale.  It was a dark, dark ale, with a chocolate-coconut-vanilla vibe going on, with a smokey, bourbony aroma that mainlines to the nostrils.  I’d like to revisit that one soon, and this time enjoy it outside a cigarette-infested roach motel like the one in GR where I sipped it with coworkers and a local character known as Slim Dart.  Go Tigers, Slim!

Leave a comment