Arrogant Bastard Ale

Reading the label to Arrogant Bastard Ale from Stone Brewing Company was almost enough to frighten me away from trying the beer, as the message seemed to be aimed straight at my pitiful sense of self esteem, but none the less I partook.  I found it brown and cloudy with a p[eachy-tan head which was frothy and long-lasting.  The bouquet was malty, sweet, cloyingly sweet in fact, with a hint of licorice snaps, butterscotch and distant hops.  Roasted carmel notes were present, but masked a bit by the alcoholy tang (7.2% ABV).  It was a beautiful beer to behold, without a doubt.  It was full-bodied, and the taste/texture was thick and sweet, finishing in a very dry fashion.  It was good, but not over-the-top good like I expected from the arrogance of the label copy.

2 Responses

  1. Just tried this on Wednesday. Thought it was really great too and at $4.99 for a 22oz. bottle I’ll try it again and again!

  2. I don’t like beign taunted by my beer because I’m very fragile emotionally, but the beer itself was better than average. I’ll bet you could find something better produced in Michigan though, with New Holland and Dark Horse being front runners.

Leave a comment