Double Jack

Image courtesy of Firestone Walker Brewing Company

Image courtesy of Firestone Walker Brewing Company

I’m a late comer to the wonders of Firestone Walker Brewing Company (Paso Robles, CA).  So many brewers, so little time.  When I had finally had enough of reading about them and got my butt into gear so I could taste their wares, I could have kicked myself for having wasted so much time.  Double Jack, a double IPA, was my first.  Wow!  Really malty, really hoppy, really good.  The hops are of the floral variety, and they furnish a bitterness that’s not too extreme, but assertive enough to let you know they’re there.  Spicey, but not overly, earthy, but not dirty.  There is plenty of sweetness in the finish, so although this is a hop forward brew, the malt is able to compliment the hops nicely without getting lost in the mix.  Double Jack is light amber in color and very lacey, with a velvety, full mouthfeel.  9.5% ABV warms the gut and brings a smile to the face.  This double IPA is not just a charicature of an IPA like some, but instead is a very well-crafted, appropriately proportioned living example of a great DIPA!

92/100 IPA/DIPA

Leave a comment