Modus Hoperandi IPA

Here’s one from Ska Brewing Company, Durango, CO.  I find ska music repetitive and annoying, but not this beer.  Anyway, how quaint, canned beer.  It’s clear and amber, but did not “pish” when I popped the tab.  This further concerned me when little carbonation was apparent in the glass.  Modus Hoperandi did however produce a good head and came alive in the mouth.  Lots of hops in the bouquet, mainly floral, but with a hint of sulphur.  It’s smooth and medium-bodied with more hops up front, sharp and a tad bitter.  The tongue and salivary glands are definitely activated by this IPA.  This is good beer, despite the questionable start, and I could see it being a great part of a summer barbecue.

2 Responses

  1. I just drank the best beer I’ve ever tasted! No joking! Aecht Schlenkerla Eiche [oak smoked]. This beer was absolutely delicious!! From Bamberg, Germany.

    http://www.schlenkerla.de/rauchbier/sorten/schlenkerlaeiche.html

  2. Best ever? On tap or bottle? That’s reason for me to find some. I almost feel bad about telling you this, but 2 weeks ago The Bavarian Lodge in Lisle had a barrel on tap, gravity fed, oak cask, and it sold out in one night. That’s it for the year. Their brewer was on hand as well. I missed the event. See my review for Charkoota Rye for addition smoke beer info.

Leave a Reply

