Yuengling Traditional Lager

ynglagerThis one was a real pleasant surprise when I first had it in Baltimore in Spring 2007.  To think that a local (well, Pottsville PA isn’t exactly local to Baltimore, but it was common to find it on tap anywhere I went) lager had some color to it blew my mind, being used to the Miller, Old Style, Bud stuff you get in Chicago.  It was amber in color, didn’t hold its head very well, but still produced a good amount of carbonation.  It had a bouquet that was malty, tart and a touch earthy maybe?  The taste followed suit with a bit of a tang, and a thin mouthfeel.  Still, I found this beer very satisfying with more to it than standard American lagers.  I liked it, and wish I could find it around here.  Lord Chesterfield Ale, another Yuengling product was faboulous, but that’s a story for another day.

2 Responses

  1. I’ll get some for you. ALA is in DC this June.

  2. […] Yuengling Traditional Lager October 2009 1 comment 4 […]

Leave a comment