Widdershins Oak Aged Barleywine Ale

Widdershins (which means counterclockwise or in a left-handed direction) Oak Aged Barleywine Ale from Left Hand Brewing Company (now I get it!), Longmont, CO., has a great label, and that’s what attracted me.  The description on the label was enticing, highlighting such qualities in the beer as floral, fruity, orange, apricot and peated malt.  10.7% ABV sealed the deal.  Widdershins pours honey-colored with a fleeting head

Image courtesy of Left Hand Brewing Company

Image courtesy of Left Hand Brewing Company

and just a bit of lacing.  The bouquet is definitely malt forward, but the hops balances well, with neither being extreme.  The mouthfeel is a bit thinner than I would expect, but it’s certainly not detrimental.  The taste profile however is not all that it advertised.  In fact, I found it kind of unflavorful.  Yes, there was a sweetness, yes there was a dryness, but there was not an interesting array of tastes and flavors, contrary to what I had expected.  You can’t win ’em all, and maybe it was an off night for my taster.  Left Hand is a great brewery and I’ve always enjoyed their wares, but Widdershins is one I won’t revisit.

One Response

  1. Reblogged this on Hoppy Girl Brewing and commented:
    I would love to get my hands on a bottle and save to compare to our first homebrew barleywine. Is it just me or does the label just reach out and say “you must drink me”

Leave a Reply

