Bigfoot Ale

Image courtesy of Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.

Image courtesy of Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.

I’m a fan of big beers.  Hell, I’m as fan of all beers, but big beers have a special place in my heart.  Bigfoot Barleywine Style Ale from Sierra Nevada Brewing Co., Chico, CA is a really big beer, therefore…  Bigfoot pours medium to dark orange with a peachy cast to it, with a big tan head, big sticky lace and a big hop bouqet.  That big, piney hop bouquet is necessary to balance the big malty foundation.  This beer has body.  After the wave of hop and malt crashes down your throat, there’s a bit of alcohol bite (9.6% ABV) and lots of bitterness.  It’s a delicate balancing act, making a beer this intense, and the bitterness may have just tipped Bigfoot Ale over the edge for me.  It’s the only thing I find at fault, but it wouldn’t stop me from enjoying Bigfoot again.  The good thing is, this beer is cellarable, vintage dated 2013, and in a year or more, the flavors will have evolved and maybe the bitterness will have subsided.  Who knows?  I’m tucking away 2 bottles from the 4-pack I bought and I will see what happens.

Bigfoot Barleywine Style Ale.  It’s big, and big is good!

82/100 Barleywine

Leave a Reply

