Boscos of Nashville

We recently visited Nashville and enjoyed a few beers at Boscos Restaurant for Beer Lovers.  The coolest thing about Boscos is that every day around 5:30 they choose a patron to be honorary cellarman, the person to tap their daily keg of cask-conditioned beer.  For every beer you order you get a raffle ticket and the barman randomly draws a winning ticket.  I say randomly because I tried to curry favor by writing the store manager, mentioning my blog and asking what I might do to enhance my chances of winning the honor of being chosen cellarman.  Suffice it to say no favor was shown despite my attempts.  Nashville is not Chicago.  None the less, I truly dug their beer.  The Famous Flaming Stone Beer was medium gold, had an average amout of carbonation and a sparse, thin head, and the lace gradually slides down the glass.  The bouquet is lightly malty with little hops to note.  The body is smooth and full-bodied without being heavy.  It’s more flavorful than the bouquet would have you imagine.  Lightly sweet with an immediate dryness, it leaves a pleasant yet fleeting aftertaste.  The Germantown Alt is copper with a tan head, light carbonation and plenty of lacing.  There is a dryness in the bouquet, some lightly roasted carmel notes and a smooth body.  It’s creamy sweet and dry, with more dryness and roasted carmel in the finish.  Isle of Sky Scottish Ale is malty, smokey and yeasty, and a satisfying brew all the way around.  The Oatmeal Stout, great.  I took fewer notes as each pint arrived,  but I can tell you that Boscos is great.  And to think, they could have been wearing the beerbliographer t-shirts I brought as a token of my appreciation, but no!  I’ll try bribing the Memphis branch next time.

Leave a Reply

